top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHayden Lambeth

I Have No Words!

Torschlusspanik

(n) Fear that time is running out to achieve life goals. Literally gate shutting panic.

The word Torschlusspanik is a combination of three German words, and the word is literally translated means gate-shut-panic. From what I found is that the term dates back to the middle ages in reference to the panic medieval peasants might have experienced as they rushed to make it back inside the city gates before they closed at nightfall. The term to me is relatively intriguing because although I don't relate to this word as intensely as those peasants do I still some what find it relative to my life.

In my life I personally considered my self to be quite the procrastinator and I believe people also think this way of me. Therefore, because of this habit of mine I consider my self to be in gate-shut-panic a lot of the time because of due dates. Many times I fear that time is running out. I panic when I realize one day that in actual fact, I haven’t done very much with my life or school work, and if I don’t act soon then I may miss out on more opportunities as time passes and the gate closes. How I feel in school I believe is the perfect representation of this word. And I believe that this word would be a great addition to my daily vocabulary. I could use this word when I talk about how I feel and when I starts to set in for me. I choose this word because I feel that I connect and represent this word very good. Although, this is a weird sounding word that nobody will know the definition of I still believe that it represents me perfectly and it could be good to used in my vocabulary form now on.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Olfactory Diary

1. Coffee: Every morning I wake up to smell of hot fresh coffee. I can Identify it because it has a very distinct smell. I think that...

Comments


bottom of page